Here's to Shutting Up (Reissue)

Merge Records

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.66 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.



The reissue will be available in three formats — CD, LP, and a limited edition orange swirl vinyl — and will also include a bonus CD of 13 previously unheard demos titled Bestial Warning.

We recorded the album in the Cabbagetown neighborhood of Atlanta at Zero Return, the studio built by Brian and Rob (aka Birdstuff and Coco the Electronic Monkey Wizard) of Man or Astro-man? Brian Paulson came with us to produce it, our first collaboration since Foolish. The studio itself was amazing. We also slept there in a dorm-like setting and stayed up too late. Like all our albums, we were trying to do new things to keep the music interesting for ourselves and people who’d been listening to all our records up to that point. I learned some things about string arrangements from Jim O’Rourke on Come Pick Me Up, and I wrote the arrangements for this one. This is our first and only full-length where there are multiple songs I don’t even play guitar on; we were trying to widen the range of what a Superchunk record could sound like. Continued trying to sing and not shout, a trend that started on the previous couple records which received mixed reviews from our fans. I was happy not to be shouting. (Please note that as of now I have returned to shouting.) - Mac McCaughan


  1. Late-Century Dream
  2. Rainy Streets 
  3. Phone Sex
  4. Florida's On Fire
  5. Out On The Wing 
  6. The Animal Has Left Its Shell
  7. Act Surprised
  8. Art Class (Song For Yayoi Kusama)
  9. What Do You Look Forward To?
  10. Drool Collection