Cart 0
Leaf LP - Flying Out


Leaf LP

RIP Society

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $6.32 Laybuy What's this?

'Leaf' is the second full-length LP by Rat Columns, released on Sydney imprint RIP Society. It follows the 'Sceptre Hole' LP and a four-song 7" on San Francisco label Smartguy Records. David West started the band in Perth and took it to San Francisco for a couple of years and now totes it between San Francisco and Melbourne. The band includes Alex and Callum from Australia and Jon, Matt and Robert from America. Rat Columns is inspired by frosted jangle, sad pop, post-punk and soft fuzz. 'Leaf' was recorded in San Francisco, in a beautiful studio belonging to the beautiful man and musical artist Kelley Stoltz, on the Residents' old tape machine. It weaves into a rather pop slipstream at times with diversions into grey clang and bedroom disco dreams. It was mixed in San Francisco and on a farm in rural Western Australia. Along with the regular RC crew the record features contributions from Australian underground starlets Mikey Young and James Vinciguerra. David's Lace Curtain buddy Mikey co-wrote the Leaf track 'Fooling Around'.- R.I.P Society

Artist: Rat Columns
Title: Leaf LP
Cat #: RIP042
Label: RIP Society
Year: 2014
Format: 12" LP

Track list:

  1. Straight To Hell
  2. Another Day
  3. Pink Mist
  4. Walking Back
  5. Sixteen
  6. Fooling Around
  7. Alone
  8. Only Love Can Hurt You
  9. Petrified
  10. Empty Lanes
  11. Leaf



Sold Out