Yuyay Jap'ina Tapes

Double Vinyl


Available from local supplier. Ships within 2-3 business days.

In the early 1990s, Luzmila Carpio's songs inspired the Quechua-speaking people of the Bolivian Andes to Yuyay Jap-ina - to "reclaim our knowledge" from a culture that marginalized indigenous people. These tapes, newly-restored and presented by Squirrel Thing Recordings (Molly Drake, Connie Converse), capture a vibrant celebration of a people and a language that would not be silenced.

A1 Riqsiqa Kasunchik (We Will Be Recognized)
A2 Ch'uwa Yaku Kawsaypuni (Crystal Clear Water Is Life)
A3 Warmip Kawysayin (The Life Of Women)
B1 Uqhumanta (From Deep Inside)
B2 Warmikuna Yupay-Chaqapuni Kasunchik (Women, We Have To Be Respected)
B3 Arawi
B4 Yanapariway Takiriyta (Help Me In Singing)
C1 Killpa
C2 Pachamamata T'ikanchasun (Adoration Of Mother Earth)
C3 Kusichisun Wawitata (Let's Cheer Up The Baby)
C4 Tillpi Tillpilla
C5 Sumaq Awaq Warmi (Woman Great Weaver)
D1 Jiwasay (Us)
D2 Qalay Qalay (My Rock)
D3 Kawsay Jap'isunchik (Let's Take Back Life)
D4 Wataq Killasnin (Months Of The Year)
D5 Amautayku, Avelino Siñani (Our Wise Guide, Avelino Siñani)