Lawrence Arabia Bundle

Honorary Bedouin Records


This item is currently unavailable.

This bundle includes 3 of Lawrence Arabia's releases...

Chant Darling (Reissue)
Absolute Truth
Lawrence Arabia’s Singles Club

Previously only ever been available on the tiny little CD format, or the weirdly invisible digital format, Lawrence Arabia's magnum opus Chant Darling is finally getting the LP sized respect it deserves, with the limited-edition vinyl reissue out at last! Featuring stone cold classics like the award-winning national anthem Apple Pie Bed, as well smash-hit singles Auckland CBD Pt 2The Beautiful Young Crew, and seven other total gems.

Lawrence Arabia's fourth album, Absolute Truth; fittingly, via Flying Nun label that released their first music in the year of his birth. Recorded primarily in late night sessions in the unglamorous Hutt Valley industrial suburb of Gracefield with Mike Fabulous, the album is full of the sparkling pop melodies that have delighted an ever-expanding audience, adding to a richly satisfying songbook, and providing another chapter in the story of this unique and cherished artist. - Jeremy Taylor, 2016

Launched as a Kickstarter to write, record and release a digital single every month in 2018, Lawrence Arabia’s 2018 Singles Club saw more than 368 backers pledge NZ$ 23,710 to help bring the project to life. Talented pals contributed to the project, including The Ruby Suns’ Ryan McPhun, Hollie Fullbrook of Tiny Ruins (singing on ‘Everything's Minimal’), Heather Mansfield from The Brunettes (singing alongside Liam Finn’s drums on ‘A Little Hate’) and a dream collaboration with psychedelic hero, Van Dyke Parks. “The whole experience was initially terrifying but ultimately heart-warming and encouraging,” recollects James. “The energy from all that rampant human positivity ended up pushing me into the process of producing twelve new songs with some sense of manic, irrational vigour. It was pretty exciting.”