Power in Numbers

Vinyl 2LP

Limited double vinyl LP pressing.

Two years after Jurassic 5's 2000 album, Quality Control, proved that B-boy-oriented retro-rap doesn't have to be corny, the group released their third studio album (second on a major label) Power In Numbers. J5's sophomore major label offering does a good job at extending their sound. Power in Numbers picks up where their previous album left off, with a short double bass sample playing the same riff that the last song on Quality Control, "Swing Set", ended with. The album features a number of differing song styles.

One track, "React", composed by Jurassic 5 DJ Cut Chemist, is sample-based and contains no raps. "Acetate Prophets" has the same structure, but is much longer and also features production from Jurassic 5's other DJ, DJ Nu-Mark. Many tracks start or end with a sample of speech, usually inserted by Cut Chemist. The track "DDT" is an a cappella track rapped by renowned underground emcee Kool Keith, featuring no raps by Jurassic 5 themselves. The chorus of "What's Golden" features a sample from "Prophets of Rage" by Public Enemy.

Track List:

Side 1

  1. This Is
  2. Freedom
  3. If You Only Knew
  4. Break, 5. React

Side 2

  1. A Day At The Races
  2. Remember His Name
  3. What's Golden

Side 3

  1. Thin Line
  2. After School Special
  3. High Fidelity
  4. Sum Of Us

Side 4

  1. DDT
  2. One Of Them
  3. Hey
  4. I Am Somebody
  5. Acetate Prophets