Box Set 5 (Curated By Chris Martin And Femi Kuti)

Vinyl 7LP

Limited seven vinyl LP box set includes booklet. Knitting Factory Records is proud to release the next installment of long-awaited vinyl reissues from the Fela Kuti catalog. Vinyl Box #5 was co-curated by Fela's son, world-renowned multi-instrumentalist and Afrobeat ambassador, Femi Kuti, and Chris Martin (yes, that Chris Martin). This volume includes Why Black Man Dey Suffer, Noise for Vendor Mouth, Kalakuta Show, Excuse O, Ikoyi Blindness, Original Sufferhead, and Overtake Don Overtake Overtake. The artwork for each album has been meticulously recreated from the original vinyl pressings, alongside vintage vinyl label artwork. The custom made box also includes a 20-page full-color booklet featuring: introductions by Chris Martin and Femi Kuti, seven in-depth commentaries by veteran music journalist and Afrobeat historian, Chris May; song lyrics; never before published photos of Fela Kuti; and stills taken from the 1982 Fela documentary Music Is The Weapon; and 16x24" poster designed by Nigerian artist Lemi Ghariokwu, the creative force behind 29 of Fela's album covers.


1 Why Black Man Dey Suffer
2 Ikoyi Mentality Versus Mushin Mentality
- Disc 2 -
1 Noise for Vendor Mouth
2 Mattress
- Disc 3 -
1 Excuse-O
2 Mr Grammarticalogylisationalism Is the Boss
- Disc 4 -
1 Kalakuta Show
2 Don't Make Ganran Ganran (Te Je Je)
- Disc 5 -
1 Ikoyi Blindness
2 Gba Mi Leti Ki N'dolowo (Slap Me, Make I Get Money)
- Disc 6 -
1 Original Sufferhead
2 Power Show
- Disc 7 -
1 Overtake Don Overtake Overtake (Part I)
2 Overtake Don Overtake Overtake (Part II)