Entertainment! (2021 Reissue)

Matador Records

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $9.00 Laybuy What's this?

This product is sourced from overseas. Ships within 5-10 business days.


Gang of Four's debut record, Entertainment!, remains one of the most beloved and influential works of it's era (or any era, really) - an unparalleled collection of songs that has left an indelible mark on generations of bands, producers and artists. Classic 1979 Debut Album Reissued On Vinyl LP! Remastered at Abbey Road From The Original Analog Tapes!

The music on the first album shows clearly the influence of punk, yet also incorporates funk and less-obvious influences of reggae and dub, similar to other bands at the time such as Public Image Ltd., Pere Ubu, and The Pop Group. As with these other influential post-punk bands, the bass is mixed much more prominently than it typically is in rock or punk.

The album has attracted praise from rock musicians. Flea of the Red Hot Chili Peppers stated that the first time he heard the record, "It completely changed the way I looked at rock music and sent me on my trip as a bass player." In 2003, the album was ranked number 490 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. In 2012, the album ranked at No. 483 on a revised list by the magazine. In March 2005, Q magazine placed the track At Home He's a Tourist at number 52 in its list of the 100 Greatest Guitar Tracks.

Pitchfork Media listed Entertainment! as eighth best album of the 1970s. Kurt Cobain listed it in his top fifty albums of all time.


  1. Ether
  2. Natural's Not In It
  3. Not Great Men
  4. Damaged Goods
  5. Return The Gift
  6. Guns Before Butter
  7. I Found That Essence Rare
  8. Glass
  9. Contract
  10. At Home He's A Tourist
  11. 5-45
  12. Love Like Anthrax
  13. I Found That Essence Rare
  14. Glass
  15. Contract
  16. At Home He's A Tourist
  17. 5.45
  18. Love Like Anthrax