Gold Lamé (Reissue)

Transparent Red Vinyl LP



F|O Points on this item

Ships next business day.

Originally released in 1996 on Flying Nun Records, the 16 songs that make up Alec Bathgate’s Gold Lamé were recorded onto a Fostex 280 4-track over the space of a year by Alec alone in his garage. Away from partner in crime, Chris Knox, Alec gives us many of the great stylistic touches at the core of the Tall Dwarfs on his own album, from crunching riffs over rhythm loop rumbles to fairground psychedelia. Gold Lamé is stacked with good moods and undeniably sweet sixties melodies right from the moment its first track, "Win Your Love", descends into something like a Beach Boys' Smile out-take. Later we get Alec picking up the voice of Velvets-era Lou Reed on "Ain't It Strange" and the Knox-Bathgate Beatles touchstone appears nicely-done on "Slow Parade". As with the best of Tall Dwarfs' output, Gold Lamé so often feels like a gem left out in the forest in 1969....


1. Win Your Love
2. Ain't It Strange (Our Aching Hearts)
3. Carl's Arrows
4. Happy Head
5. Pet Hates
6. Slow Parade
7. Your Heavy Dream (Won't Fly)
8. Run
9. Gold Lamé
10. Love, Love, Love
11. No Taxi To Hoboken
12. Happy Hound
13. Friday In The Ground
14. Train To Skaville
15. Life Ain't Easy (When You're Dead)
16. Monkey Puzzle