Hello Blackbird (A Soundtrack By…)

Cherry Red Records

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $8.33 Laybuy What's this?

This product is sourced from overseas, additional delays will occur.

FREE shipping in NZ, Australian orders over $99, International orders over $199

Debut on vinyl LP for Mercury Rev’s 2006 soundtrack album, Hello Blackbird. At the time, V2 planned to release this on vinyl but the project never got beyond test pressings. Strictly limited edition of 1,000 copies on marbled blue vinyl, with a printed inner sleeve.

Musically, Hello Blackbird allowed Mercury Rev to further expand the sonic soundscapes they were exploring with The Secret Migration, with classical and ambient styles (The Last Of The White Birds reinterpreted Chopin’s Piano Sonata No. 2 in Bb minor, Opus 35 (Marche Funebre)’). The album was recorded at Six Hour Studios in Kingston, New York, in mid-2004 and the music was intended as the soundtrack for the 2005 feature film Bye Bye Blackbird, by French director and photographer Robinson Savary. Bye Bye Blackbird was a tragic, compelling love story set in a turn-of-the-century travelling circus, with a stellar cast, including Derek Jacobi and James Thierre.


Side A:
1. Blackbird’s Call
2. Illumination By Street Lamp
3. Waltz For Alice
4. Trial By Wire
5. Daydream For Nina
6. Audition Scene Sketch (simply
7. The White Birds
8. Josef’s Vision

Side Two
1. Eye Of The Blackbird (traveling Music Ii)
2. The Last Of The White Birds (marche
3. Cinema Theme
4. First Flight Of The White Birds
5. The Chimpy Waltz
6. Dempsey’s Theme
7. Fantasia No. 1
8. Robert Y Roberto
9. Traveling Music
10. Departed Angels
11. Simply Because