Cart 0
Sines - Flying Out



Shoot The Freak

or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $3.83 Laybuy What's this?
Eight years after an explorative post-rock storm that saw them tour the world,JAKOBhas broken the silence. In an emerging swell, their forthcoming albumSinesis a bold and splendorous return to the world stage after an extended pause.

The albums opening track Blind Them With Science erupts in into a cacophonous roar that, dare we say it, is worth the wait. Fans have waited for eight years for this record -- with patience and passion, some believing that it might not ever arrive at all.

The long-awaited follow-up to 2006s Solace, shows New Zealands most formidable post-rock three- piece is now back in full swing and ready to bring their unmistakeable sonic texturing to their fans once more.

As on their previous three albums and two EPs,Sinesis itself a force of nature, built upon lush, epic layers and deft movement; a journey that spits with menace and relapses into beauty in a fine return to form that will see old fans ecstatic and new generations of fans intrigued.

Sinesis as much soundscape as rock-show -- an echo of the expansive surroundings of the bands native Hawkes Bay, personifying rough seas and sweeping landscapes. Each element in the vigorous trio that comprises JAKOB is as essential to the wall-of-sound as its counterparts -- Jeff Boyles lush and commanding guitar work spirals delicately before a wide explosion, the bass of Maurice Beckett growls and pulses like an electrical current, and the powerful surge of Jason Johnstons drumming cascades between thunderous treatment, precise, driving beats and eerie silences.

An international effort recorded across oceans, between Auckland (Roundhead Studios) and Napier (Sister Lung Studios) with ISIS engineer Jono Gardner and Nick Blow, mixed by Jeff Boyle with pockets of guidance from the likes of long-time UK-based co-producer David Holmes, ISIS Aaron Harris, and Nick Blow, and mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog.


Artist: Jakob
Title: Sines
Label: Shoot The Freak
Cat #: STF007
Year: 2014
Formats: Double 12" LP + CD

  1. Blind Them With Science
  2. Emergent
  3. Magna Carta
  4. Harmonia
  5. Resolve
  6. Darkness
  7. Sines


Based on 2 reviews Post a review

More from this collection



Sold Out