Young Shakespeare

Warner Music

$120.00 $155.00
Only 1 left!
Only 1 left!
or 6 weekly interest-free payments of $20.00 Laybuy What's this?

Ships next business day.


Just two months after the release of his seminal After the Gold Rush, Neil Young sat down for a performance at The Shakespeare Theatre on January 22, 1971. The Stratford, CT show captures the artist stripped down to the bare essentials—acoustic guitar, piano, and harmonica.

The concert was recorded for presentation on German TV later that year but was not publicly available until now. The original 50 year-old analog tapes have been lovingly restored (resulting in what Neil Young calls “one of the most pure sounding acoustic performances we have in the Archive”.), making available early acoustic recordings of two After the Gold Rush songs, early Harvest tunes, and beloved favourites such as Ohio. Both the film and audio have been painstakingly restored by Young’s team.


  1. Tell Me Why
  2.  Old Man
  3. The Needle and the Damage Done
  4. Ohio
  5. Dance Dance Dance
  6.  Cowgirl in the Sand
  7. A Man Needs A Maid/Heart of Gold medley
  8.  Journey Through The Past
  9.  Don’t Let It Bring You Down
  10.  Helpless
  11. Down By The River
  12.  Sugar Mountain